Wisps of Wisdom

From the time that I started to hear my own personal call, the call of The Morrigan, I knew that I would be a warrior for the rest of my life. At one point, I had my tarot cards read by a dear friend of mine who told me that the cards said that I would ‘never be able to put my sword down’. The way it was told to me, it sounded like a burden. But, when I heard it, I told my friend that I knew I would always have to have my ‘sword’ and wield it and that it was an HONOR to be able to pick that sword up every day, to sleep with it, to learn it and to follow the Path on which I would have to use that sword. 

Being a warrior of any kind does not make that warrior a better person than any other. It is simply a different Path. The greatness of following a warrior’s Path is not in being a warrior, per say. The greatness is in KNOWING that you are on the right Path, the one your heart told you to follow. 

And, in thinking of these things, I will end this entry with quotes from a wise man who taught me many things. It may, in fact, be time to read the books by this author again at this time in my life, when my Path is well defined. So, I leave you, reader, with two quotes from this wise man. Take from it what you will. 

“The self-confidence of the warrior is not the self-confidence of the average man. The average man seeks certainty in the eyes of the onlooker and calls that self-confidence. The warrior seeks impeccability in his own eyes and calls that humbleness. The average man is hooked to his fellow men, while the warrior is hooked only to infinity.

To be a warrior is not a simple matter of wishing to be one.  It is rather an endless struggle that will go on to the very last moment of our lives.  Nobody is born a warrior, in exactly the same way that nobody is born an average man.  We make ourselves into one or the other.”

~ Carlos Castaneda

3 thoughts on “Wisps of Wisdom

  1. darktrillium says:

    Beautiful entry, JoBeth; an honor to read. I so admire your passion and conviction.

  2. darktrillium says:

    Beautiful entry, JoBeth; an honor to read. I admire your passion and conviction.

  3. Thank you, Trillium.
    Of course, you remember that reading and that I was honored to be able to never put that sword down. Thank you for being in my life at that time and now. You continue to be a treasured friend.

Leave a Reply

